4 Stars for Spells of Blood and Kin

Spells of Blood and KinSpells of Blood and Kin
by Claire Humphrey

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The adaptation of Russian fairy tales to Urban Fantasy was unique. Definitely not the kinds of “vampires” and witches you read about in other books. While all the flashbacks added layers of history and authenticity, the plot was slow. The characters were well defined by the end, but I struggled to connect with any of them. The tone of the book throughout was heavy and tense, and while it became more foreboding or graver at times, the excitement didn’t ramp up for me at the climax. I did enjoy the book, and I thought it was well-written. Take the label “dark fantasy” seriously.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

